Buckinghamshire's historic towns

8/13/2020 8:58:54 AM

The towns in Buckinghamshire and Milton Keynes are a defining part of our landscape. They represent our community and embody our county's history. 

We have completed a project surveying 30 settlements in Buckinghamshire and Milton Keynes. This project has helped us to better understand the evolution of our towns. The project, funded by Historic England, has produced illustrated reports for each town. It also includes a popular publication summarising the key findings.


Historic towns report

This summary report is the culmination of five years' work, investigating the archaeology and history of thirty towns and villages in Buckinghamshire and the unitary authority of Milton Keynes.

Download the report

A printed copy is available from the Historic Environment Record, priced £10.


Table of historic towns selected for study 

Map highlighting the location of the selected historic towns for studyAylesbury Vale District

1. Aylesbury
2. Brill
3. Buckingham
4. Great Horwood
5. Haddenham
6. Ivinghoe
7. Long Crendon
8. Wendover
9. Whitchurch
10. Winslow

Chiltern District

11. Amersham
12. Chalfont St Peter
13. Chesham
14. Great Missenden

Milton Keynes

15 & 16. Bletchley
17. Hanslope
18. Little Brickhill
19. Newport Pagnell
20. Olney
21. Stony Stratford
22 & 23. Wolverton & New Bradwell

South Bucks District

24. Beaconsfield
25. Burnham
26. Denham
27. Gerrards Cross

Wycombe District

28. High Wycombe
29. Marlow
30. Princes Risborough


Visit Buckinghamshire’s Heritage Portal to find out more about your local area.



Historic Towns methodology

Was this page helpful?

Very poor
Neither good nor poor
Very good