Council structure


We have 49 councillors who represent all parts of the county and are elected every 4 years. The Council is Conservative controlled and led. Full County Council meetings (all Councillors) are held 6 times a year. Council's decision-making body is called the Cabinet and is a group of 8 Councillors who meet every 3 weeks in public. Councillors also sit on a range of committees and other meetings. 

Councillors who are not members of the Cabinet take part in scrutinising the work of the Council, providing a balance to the Cabinet function. 

The Council is managed on Councillors' behalf by our Chief Executive and the senior management team.

Print entire guide

Last updated: 12 March 2019

Was this page helpful?

Very poor
Neither good nor poor
Very good