Community Cohesion and Equalities

Title Value
Last updated: 12 March 2019

The Public Sector Equality Duty

The Public Sector Equality Duty, also known as the General Duty, came into force on 5 April 2011.  It requires that in the exercise of our functions we must have due regard to the need to:

  1. Eliminate discrimination, harassment and victimisation.
  2. Advance equality of opportunity between people who share a relevant protected characteristic and those who do not.
  3. Foster good relations between persons who share a relevant protected characteristic and those who do not.

The protected characteristics are age, disability, gender reassignment, marriage and civil partnership, maternity and pregnancy, race, religion or belief, sex and sexual orientation.

Further regulations made under the Duty impose additional Specific Duties. These say that we must:

  • By no later than 6th April 2012, prepare and publish one or more equality objectives to be achieved within a four year time frame. These must be specific and measurable. This is an on-going requirement to be met within 4 years from the last date of publication.
  • By no later than 31 January 2012, and annually thereafter, publish information to demonstrate our compliance with the general Equality Duty. This must include information about people who share relevant protected characteristic who are our employees, and other people affected by our policies and practices (such as service users).
  • Publish this information in a way that is accessible to the public, including within another published document

Was this page helpful?

Very poor
Neither good nor poor
Very good