Skip to main content
One Council - Only 3 days left to give your view!

Have your say  - it only takes a minute!

Be A County Councillor

8. Government in Buckinghamshire

Buckinghamshire has three tiers of local government: County Council, four District Councils and 167 Parish/Town Councils.

District Councils have responsibility for services like waste collection, housing and planning applications.

Parish and Town Councils are independent, with little political orientation and the powers to do a wide range of functions in their local communities, such as public halls, litter bins and parks.

The Council runs 19 Local Area Forums which involve all three tiers of government and look at issues facing local areas.

Find out more about the Council's Structure

Print entire guide

Last updated: 8 December 2017

Help us to improve Buckinghamshire County Council

Don't include personal or financial information like your National Insurance number or credit card details.