Newly elected County Council swings into action


The 49 newly-elected members of Buckinghamshire County Council set to work today (Thursday May 18) at the first meeting of their four-year administration.

Val Letheren handed the Chairman's chain of office to her successor, Patricia Birchley (Chiltern Ridges), and was presented with an album of photos from her year in office.

Martin Tett (Little Chalfont & Amersham Common) was returned as Leader and welcomed new Members, who make up almost a third of the new County Council.

He said: "I thank the people of Buckinghamshire for voting for their County Council in such numbers. It is important that those of us elected now turn our attention to delivering the best results for the residents and businesses of our fantastic county."

Martin introduced the new Cabinet, which will be responsible for day-to-day decisions in implementing the Council's budget and policies.

They are:

Deputy Leader and Transport: Mark Shaw (Chesham)

Education and Skills: Mike Appleyard (Wooburns, Bourne End & Hedsor)

Children's Services: Warren Whyte (Buckingham East)

Health and Wellbeing: Lin Hazell (Farnham Common & Burnham Beeches)

Planning and Environment: Bill Chapple OBE (Aston Clinton & Bierton)

Community Engagement: Noel Brown (Chess Valley)

Resources and Finance: John Chilver (Winslow)



The new Buckinghamshire County Council Cabinet.  Front row: Leader Martin Tett, centre; Mark Shaw, left; Lin Hazell, right.  Back row from left: John Chilver, Bill Chapple, Warren Whyte, Noel Brown, Mike Appleyard



Was this page helpful?

Very poor
Neither good nor poor
Very good