Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction


The Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction is the UK's most prestigious annual book award for fiction written by a woman.

Founded in 1996, the Prize was set up to celebrate excellence, originality and accessibility in writing by women throughout the world.

Discover the brilliant books of the 2017 Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction longlist. 

The Sport of Kings The Sport of Kings
C. E. Morgan
The Power The Power
Naomi Alderman
The Mare The Mare
Mary Gaitskill

The Lonely Hearts Hotel The Lonely Hearts Hotel
Heather O'Neill

The Lesser Bohemians The Lesser Bohemians
Eimear McBride
The Gustav Sonata
The Gustav Sonata
Rose Tremain

The Essex SerpentThe Essex Serpent
Sarah PerryThe Dark Circle
The Dark Circle
Linda Grant

Stay with me Stay With Me
Ayobami Adebayo

Midwinter Midwinter
Fiona Melrose

Little Deaths Little Deaths
Emma Flint

Hag-seed Hag-seed
Margaret Atwood

First Love
First Love
Gwendoline Riley
Do Not Say We Have Nothing Do Not Say We Have Nothing
Madeleine Thien

Do Not Say We Have Nothing Barkskins
Annie Proulx
Do Not Say We Have Nothing The Woman Next Door
Yewande Omotoso

Was this page helpful?

Very poor
Neither good nor poor
Very good